Israel 50 Lirot banknote 1960

Israeli Currency 50 Lirot banknote 1960 Jewish pioneers
Israeli Currency 50 Lirot banknote 1960 Candelabrum from the ancient synagogue of Maon-Nirim in the Negev
Israeli Currency 50 Lirot banknote 1960 Bank of Israel

Obverse: Two young pioneers against a background of an agricultural settlement in the Negev; the denomination "Fifty Israeli Pounds" and "Bank of Israel" in Hebrew.​
Reverse: Candelabrum from the ancient synagogue of Nirim in the Negev; "Bank of Israel" in Hebrew, English and Arabic.​
Watermark:​ The faces of the pioneers.​
Security thread: In the middle of the note.​
Colour of numbering:​ Black. Red (February 1965); blue (December 1966); green (May 1967); brown (September 1969).​
Signatures:​ Governor of the Bank David Horowitz; Chairman of the Advisory Council J.E. Nebenzahl.​
Design:​ Shamir Brothers, Jacob Zim.​
Size: 178 X 93 mm.​
Dominant colour: Brown.​
Year:​ 1960.​
Date of issue: December 9, 1960.​
Ceased to be legal tender:​ March 31, 1984.​
Note:​ Starting from the 1966 reprint, the security thread in the middle was moved to the left and replaced by a morse code signifying "Am Israel Hai" ("The people of Israel live on").​

Israel Banknotes - Israel Paper Money
Second Series of the Pound
1958-1960 Issue
The abstract patterns of the first series did not meet with public approval. When criticism mounted, the Governor decided to issue a new series, and appointed a public committee to plan the notes. The committee selected drawings of people illustrating different walks of Israeli life (a pioneer-woman soldier, fisherman, scientist, etc.) as the principal motif and archaeological subjects as the secondary motif.
The form and size of the notes differed from those of the previous series. The basic sketches were the work of Israeli artists. The series was put into circulation in 1959-60, and gradually replaced the previous series.
From this series onwards, the banknotes of Israel are printed in several state or state-controlled banknote printing works in Europe.​

1/2 Lira    1 Lira    5 Lirot    10 Lirot    50 Lirot