Libya 5 Libyan Pounds banknote 1963

Libyan Banknotes 5 Pounds note 1963
Five Libyan Pounds Note

Libyan Banknotes: 5 Pounds, Bank of Libya - Law of 1963 (AH1382). P-31.

Obverse: Ornate Archway at center, Royal arms of the Kingdom of Libya at left, value at right and at each corner.
Reverse: Five Libyan Pounds - value in words at centre, ornate arches at left and right. Text: Issued in the name of King Idris I by the Bank of Libya in accordance with Law №4 of the 5th february 1963.

Libyan banknotes and paper money from Libya 

Law 1963 "Arms / Large Size" Libyan Pound Issue

1/4 Libyan Pound    1/2 Libyan Pound    1 Libyan Pound    
5 Libyan Pounds    10 Libyan Pounds  

Law 1963 "Arms / Reduced Size" Libyan Pound Issue

1/4 Libyan Pound   1/2 Libyan Pound   1 Libyan Pound    5 Libyan Pounds    10 Libyan Pounds

Libyan pound

The Libyan pound (Arabic جنيه, junieh) was the currency of Libya between 1951 and 1971. The pound was divided into 100 piastres (قرش, qirsh) and 1000 milliemes (مليم).

When Libya was a part of the Ottoman Empire, the country used the Ottoman qirsh (XOTP), issuing some coins locally until 1844. When Italy took over the country in 1911, the Italian lira was introduced. In 1943, Libya was split into French and British mandate territories. Algerian francs were used in the French mandate, whilst Tripolitanian lira issued by the British Military Authorities were used in the British mandate.

In 1951, the pound was introduced, replacing the franc and lira at rates of 1 pound = 480 lire = 980 francs. The pound was replaced, at par, by the dinar in 1971 following the Libyan Revolution of 1969.

In 1951, the government issued notes in denominations of 5 and 10 piastres, ¼, ½, 1, 5 and 10 pounds. In 1959, the National Bank of Libya took over the issuance of paper money with denominations of ½, 1, 5 and 10 pounds. In 1963, the Bank of Libya took over from the National Bank and issued notes in the same denominations.

Coins were issued in 1952 in denominations of 1, 2 and 5 milliemes, 1 and 2 piastres. In 1965, a second series of coins was issued in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 milliemes. These coins continued to circulate after 1971 as no new coins were issued until 1975.