Ceylon 2 Rupees banknote 1949 King George VI

Ceylon banknotes 2 Rupees banknote 1949 King George VI

Ceylon currency 2 Rupees note 1949
Ceylon 2 Rupees banknote 1949 King George VI

King George VI Pictorial Two Rupees currency note issued with dates between 1941 September and 1949 by the Board of Commissioners of Currency during WWII Type has 9 dates with 3 Signature pairs and legend This note is Legal Tender. As they were also issued in booklets all Dates have two varieties left edge perforated or straight.

Obverse: Violet on Brown, and blue underprint. Portrait of King George VI on the left, a water-mark panel on the right, and the value in words TWO RUPEES in single lines in center and in figures 2 slanted on the top two corners. GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON in an arc above THIS NOTE IS LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF ANY AMOUNT in an arc and two lines. The date appears above the two facsimile signatures with COMMISSIONERS OF CURRENCY below. The centered Serial number below. Lower the value in Sinhala on left and Text in Tamil on right.
Reverse: Violet on a Lilac, Green, and Orange tint underprint with Micro printing text THE GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON. Pictorial at center with caption SIGIRIYA ROCK with lake and foliag in foreground. Centered on top THE GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON in an arc. The value in figures 2 on four corners, with upper two slanted. Lower the value in Sinhala on left and Text in Tamil on right.

Water-mark: Ratnapura Raised Lion with whip on paper manufactured by Messrs Portals Ltd.
Signatures of Commissioners of Currency: C.E. Jones & T.D. Perera.
The Notes are 127 by 76 mm i.e. 5 by 3 inches.
Printed by lithography process in India Government Security Press.
Booklets issued with 25 Notes each with single staple on left on 1/4 inch (6 mm) perforated counterfoil with colored soft board covers on front and back. Printed on front cover GOVERNMENT OF CEYLON underlined with 25 CURRENCY NOTES OF Rs. 2. in 3 lines below. (guess based on Re 1)
The notes were demonetized with all notes dated before 1950 December 31st on 1955 August 26th and ceased to be legal tender with effect 1956 August 31st.

Ceylon Banknotes
20.12.1941-1949 King George VI "This Note is Legal Tender" Issue

1 Rupee    2 Rupees    5 Rupees    10 Rupees    50 Rupees    
100 Rupees    1000 Rupees    10000 Rupees