British West Africa 10 Shillings note of 1941.

shilling note West African Currency Board
British West Africa 10 Shillings note
Shilin Goma, Ten Shillings

British West Africa 10 Shillings note of 1941, issued by the West African Currency Board.

Obverse: Palm tree.
Reverse: "Shilin Goma" - Ten Shillings in Arabic script.
Printed by Waterlow and Sons Limited, London United Kingdom.

    The British West African Currency Board was constituted in 1912 to control the supply of currency to the British West African Colonies, protectorates and mandate territories: Gold Coast (Ghana), Sierra Leone, Gambia (Colony) and Nigeria.
    In 1916, the West African Currency Board introduced notes for 2, 10 and 20 shillings, followed by 1 shilling notes in 1918. Only the 10 and 20 shillings notes were issued after 1918, until 100 shillings (5 pounds) notes were introduced in 1953. The last notes (20 shillings) were produced in 1962.
   The British West African Pound was equal to the pound sterling and was similarly subdivided into 20 shillings, each of 12 pence.