Mauritius banknotes 25 Rupees note 1967 young Queen Elizabeth II

Paper Money currency Mauritius banknotes 25 Rupees banknote
Mauritius banknotes 25 rupees Queen Elizabeth portrait banknote
Paper Money Mauritius 25 Mauritian Rupees banknote bill
 Mauritius money currency 25 Mauritian rupees
Mauritian Currency 25 Rupees banknote of 1967 Queen Elizabeth II, issued by the BANK OF MAURITIUS
Mauritius banknotes, Mauritius paper money, Mauritian rupee banknotes, Mauritius paper money currency collection, British Commonwealth Banknotes.

Obverse: Portrait of young Queen Elizabeth II in the robes of the Sovereign of the Order of the Garter. This portrait of the Queen is adapted from a painting by Pietro Annigoni. The portrait was privately commissioned by the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers in 1954, but not completed until 1955. The painting is now displayed in Fishmongers' Hall, London. The full length portrait features Her Majesty wearing the regalia of the Order of the Garter, standing regally with a distant but lonely aspect. The portrait is regarded by many as one of the finest portrayals of the young Queen. This is the De La Rue version of the portrait. In this version, the darker shading on the side of The Queen's face below her temple has a distinct edge, highlighting her cheekbone. In addition, the braid on her cloak is drawn more simply and regularly. The value of 25 Rupees written in English, Tamil and Hindi.
Reverse: Ox cart.
Printed: Thomas De La Rue, London England.

Mauritius banknotes - Mauritius paper money
ND (1967) "Queen Elizabeth II" Issue

5 Rupees    10 Rupees    25 Rupees    50 Rupees

The Mauritian Rupee is the currency of Mauritius.
 The rupee was established by law in 1876 as the local currency of Mauritius. The rupee was chosen due to the massive inflow of Indian rupees following Indian immigration to Mauritius. The Mauritian rupee was introduced in 1877, replacing the Indian rupee, sterling and the Mauritian dollar, with the Mauritian rupee equal to one Indian rupee or half a Mauritian dollar. The pound was worth 10¼ rupees at that time. The Mauritian currency also circulated in the Seychelles until 1914, when it was replaced by the Seychellois rupee at par.

In 1934, a peg to sterling replaced the peg to the Indian rupee, at the rate of 1 rupee = 1 shilling 6 pence (the rate at which the Indian rupee was also pegged). This rate, equivalent to 13⅓ rupees = 1 pound, was maintained until 1979.

  The first banknotes were issued by the government dated 1876 in denominations of 5, 10 and 50 rupees. 1 rupee notes were added in 1919. In 1940, emergency issues were made of 25 and 50 cents and 1 rupee. In 1954, 25 and 1000 rupees were introduced.

  The Bank of Mauritius was established in September 1967 as the nation’s central bank, and has been responsible for the issue of banknotes and coins since that time. The bank issued its first notes in 1967, comprising four denominations: 5, 10, 25, and 50 rupees, all undated and featuring a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II on front.