Israel 50 New Sheqalim banknote 1999 Bank of Israel

Israel 50 New Sheqalim note Shmuel Yosef AgnonIsraeli currency 50 New Sheqalim banknote 1999 Bank of Israel

Israeli currency 50 New Sheqalim banknote 1999 Bank of Israel

Obverse: Portrait of Shmuel Yosef Agnon; picture of Agnon's study and personal library. Text from the acceptance address given by Agnon when he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1966.​
Latent image:​ A triangle in the right-hand corner. ​
Sign for the blind:​ Three vertical lines in intaglio ink at the top left of the note. ​
Denomination: ​ In the top right-hand corner in numbers, in Hebrew and with the words "Bank of Israel"; and in the bottom left-hand corner in metallic gold.​
Watermark:​ Portrait of Agnon and a small circle beneath it enclosing the initial of his surname (in Hebrew).​
Security thread:​ Threaded through the paper below the middle of the note.​
​Reverse: Picture of Agnon's writing stand with his pen and reading glasses. Text lists the titles of sixteen of Agnon's books.​
Microtext:​ To the right of the main text with titles of seventeen of Agnon's books.​
Denomination:​ In numbers with the words "New Sheqalim" and "Bank of Israel"; in iridescent ink and in Arabic characters.​
Optical Variable Ink:​ A triangle, composed of small squares, with the apex pointing to the right.​
See-through:​ A small triangle printed on either side of the note; the two triangles form a precise Star of David.​
Serial numbers:​ Once in blue and once in black which reflects UV light.​
Designers:​ Naomi Rosner and Meir Eshel. ​
Date of Issue:​ October 31, 1999.​
​Size: 138 X 71 mm.​
Dominant colour:​ Violet.​

Israel Banknotes - Israel Paper Money
Second Series of the New Sheqel
The second series includes improved security features against forgery. The new banknotes share similar design elements and all have uniform security features. The personages on the second series of NIS notes are those who featured on the same denominations of the first NIS series. The notes are designed vertically, and all denominations are uniform in size: 138 mm x 71 mm. The second series was designed by Naomi Rosner and Meir Eshel.​

20 New Sheqalim   50 New Sheqalim   100 New Sheqalim   200 New Sheqalim

Shmuel Yosef Agnon
Shmuel Yosef Agnon (July 17, 1888 – February 17, 1970) was a Nobel Prize laureate writer and was one of the central figures of modern Hebrew fiction. In Hebrew, he is known by the acronym Shai Agnon. In English, his works are published under the name S. Y. Agnon.
Agnon was born in Galicia, Austro-Hungarian Empire (today Ukraine). He later immigrated to the British Mandate of Palestine, and died in Jerusalem, Israel.
His works deal with the conflict between the traditional Jewish life and language and the modern world. They also attempt to recapture the fading traditions of the European shtetl (village). In a wider context, he also contributed to broadening the characteristic conception of the narrator's role in literature. Agnon shared the Nobel Prize with the poet Nelly Sachs in 1966.