Australian Banknotes 50 Australian Dollars banknote 1991

Australian banknotes currency Fifty Dollars bill
50 Australian dollars banknote
Australian dollars notes money images pictures
  Australian paper fifty dollar note, circulated between 1973 and 1995.
50 Australian dollars banknote of 1991, issued by the Reserve Bank of Australia.
Australian banknotes, Australian paper money, Australian bank notes, Australia banknotes, Australia paper money, Australia bank notes

The original fifty dollar note, designed by Gordon Andrews, has a scientific theme.
Obverse: Portrait of Australian pathologist Sir Howard Florey and scenes of laboratory research.
Reverse: Portrait of Sir Ian Clunies Ross, veterinary scientist and first chairman of the CSIRO, along with scenes from the Australian environment.

Howard Walter Florey, Baron Florey of Adelaide (24 September 1898 – 21 February 1968) was an Australian pharmacologist and pathologist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1945 with Sir Ernst Boris Chain and Sir Alexander Fleming for his role in the making of penicillin. Although Fleming received most of the credit for the discovery of Penicillin, it was in fact Florey who carried out the first ever clinical trials in 1941 of penicillin at the Radcliffe Infirmary in Oxford on the first patient a Postmaster from Wolvercote near Oxford. The patient started to recover but unfortunately subsequently died because Florey had not made enough penicillin. Florey's discoveries are estimated to have saved over 82 million lives. Florey is regarded by the Australian scientific and medical community as one of its greatest scientists. Sir Robert Menzies, Australia's longest-serving Prime Minister, said that "In terms of world well-being, Florey was the most important man ever born in Australia".

Sir (William) Ian Clunies Ross, (22 February 1899 – 20 June 1959) is described as the 'architect' of Australia's scientific boom, for his stewardship of Australia's scientific organisation the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation - CSIRO.