German States banknotes Prussian Thaler Courant 1861

German States banknotes - Kingdom of Prussia 1 Thaler Courant banknote 1861
German banknotes, German mark banknotes, Deutsche Mark, German paper money, German bank notes, Germany banknotes, Germany paper money, Germany bank notes, German currency, German East African banknotes, German Rentenmark.

The Thaler (sometimes Reichsthaler) was the currency of Prussia until 1857. From 1750, it was distinct from north German Reichsthaler unit of account in that it contained 1/14 of a Cologne mark of silver, rather than 1/12, and was minted as a coin. This change was implemented by Philipp Graumann and the system of 14 thaler to the mark was known as the "Graumannscher Fuß".
Until 1821, the thaler was subdivided in Brandenburg into 24 Groschen, each of 12 Pfennige. In Prussia proper, it was subdivided into 3 Polish Gulden = FL = Zloty , each of 30 Groschen (each Groschen = 18 Pfennige) or 90 Schilling. Prussia's currency was unified in 1821, with the Thaler subdivided into 30 Silbergroschen, each of 12 Pfennige.
In 1857, the Prussian Thaler was replaced by the Vereinsthaler, having become the standard across much of Germany.
The Vereinsthaler was the currency of Prussia between 1857 and 1873. It replaced the Thaler at par and was replaced by the Mark at a rate of 1 Vereinsthaler = 3 Mark. The Vereinsthaler was subdivided into 30 Silbergroschen, each of 12 Pfenninge.

German States banknotes before 1871