Mauritius banknotes 10 Rupees banknote of 1930 King George V

British notes Mauritius banknotes 10 Rupees banknote King George money currency
Mauritius banknotes 10 Rupees banknote, King George V 
Banknotes Mauritius 10 Rupees bill Mauritius Rupee notes money
bank notes of Mauritius
Currency of Mauritius 10 Rupees banknote of 1930, 
issued by the Government of Mauritius
Mauritius banknotes, Mauritius paper money, Mauritian rupee banknotes, Mauritius paper money currency collection.

Obverse: Portrait of His Majesty King George V of the United Kingdom and the British Dominions, Emperor of India.
Printed by Waterlow & Sons Limited, London.

The rupee was established by law in 1876 as the local currency of Mauritius. The first banknotes were issued by the government of Mauritius in 1876 in denominations of 5, 10 and 50 rupees. The rupee was chosen due to the massive inflow of Indian rupees following Indian immigration to Mauritius. Other currencies in circulation at the time were the British pound and the Mauritian dollar. The Mauritian rupee was introduced in 1877, replacing the Indian rupee, sterling and the Mauritian dollar, with the Mauritian rupee equal to one Indian rupee or half a Mauritian dollar. The pound was worth 10¼ rupees at that time. The Mauritian currency also circulated in the Seychelles until 1914, when it was replaced by the Seychellois rupee at par.

In 1934, a peg to sterling replaced the peg to the Indian rupee, at the rate of 1 rupee = 1 shilling 6 pence. This rate, equivalent to 13,333 rupees = 1 pound, was maintained until 1979. The gold content of the Mauritius rupee was fixed by International Monetary Fund September 18, 1949 to 0.186621 grams of fine gold, corresponding to parity with the pound sterling and the Indian rupee.